Well Rounded Investor

My journey of becoming financial independence by 35 years old

Recent Buy – WMT

I bought Walmart a year ago, then I had to sell it (took a tiny profit) to raise money for the rental property. Since then, Walmart was flying high until recently the stock pulled back for due to earnings and expense constrained (they have raised the minimum wage for workers). Kudos to WMT for taking the initiative, but their bottom line suffered.

The other reason is Amazon took a big bite out of WMT customers base. Well, Walmart fought back buy investing millions in online ordering and they also bought Jet.com.

The third reason for WMT pullback? Rate is set to increase, and dividend stock are too “risky” as compare to bond that are going to go up. Yes, the market is having the Trump-euphoria effect, but once the dollar is up to their neck, confiscating profit, you’ll see stocks like JNJ, WMT, and a bunch more will go down as they are not able to sell more, hence profit would go down.

As for now, I’d see the market breaking 20,000 before crashing hard. But until then, I enjoy seeing my 401K in the up and up.

Alright, back to WMT. I have nothing against the company. I re-initiate 20 shares, it might go back up to $73 or it might go back down to $55. If it goes down more, I don’t mind owning more.

*************

Update on life:

I’ll be working this Thanksgiving again this year for maybe 6-8 consecutive years. LOL šŸ™‚ That’s part of being a hospital worker. I take that. On the bright side, my hospital is giving out free meal on Thanksgiving Day. I generally don’t eat turkey, but I’d eat it if it free. LOL šŸ™‚

Cheers!

 

 

2 comments on “Recent Buy – WMT

  1. Investment Hunting
    November 23, 2016

    Congrats on your latest WMT buy. It’s always on my watchlist, but I haven’t bought any shares yet.

    Like

  2. humblefi
    November 24, 2016

    I think if Trump decides to pick labor fights with China, Mexico and other manufacturing bases, would it affect Walmart? I think lower priced goods may become slightly more expensive and reduce revenues….

    Isn’t this your first Thanksgiving knowing that you are financially independent? Looks like somebody is going to have lots of fun šŸ™‚

    Best wishes for an awesome Thanksgiving holiday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2016 by in Best post.

Recent Posts: No Nonsense Landlord

November 2016
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

calendar

November 2016
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

