Well Rounded Investor

My journey of becoming financial independence by 35 years old

Our splurges

Mr. WRI and I are both grow up in poverty. Our parents at one point were well to do, but at one point he lost his Dad, and I lost my mom. When you only have one parent to support the whole family, room and board were their top priority. I couldn’t think of a time where I was suffer from hunger. Any extra tutoring that I asked, my parents would pay for it. But no extravagant vacations, toys, games, or event kid size bike (I had to wait until I was 9 years old to hold on to the adult bike, then I learned to ride a bike).
So, with the modest upbringing, we took after our parents, we become frugal ourselves. However, once we’ve become well to do ourselves here are the thing we would splurge on:

1. Good shoes: because bad, uncomfortable shoes will end up in the closet and not get worn at all.
2. Good food: we are healthy eater, we choose the best one on the shelf, we choose lean meat and organic produce, grow our own veggie whenever we can. We do eat out quite a bit, if it’s up to me, I dint want to eat out at all, too oily food.
3. College basketball games – we work for a public university, as a form of giving back, we donate a certain amount of money that’d guarantee us 2 seats. The university keep the face value of ticket low, and we get to deduct money for taxes.
4. Travel – when we travel, we pay a bit more for higher end hotels. Not much fast food, we try local food.
5. Golf – Mr. WRI likes to play golf, so I am usually the one who book the tee time, I’d use only booking websites to save 50% on tee time. Mr. WRI doesn’t care much as long as the course is decent, and he gets to play weekly.

One comment on “Our splurges

  1. Pingback: Our Puerto Rico trip recap | Well Rounded Investor

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2014 by in Best post.

It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

calendar

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

